Party workers of the All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) were booked by the Hyderabad police for allegedly violating the Model Code of Conduct (MCC), while one of the party leaders was filing his nomination with the Election Commission.

The police said that the AIMIM workers violated guidelines and permissions that were granted by the concerned Returning Officer, by conducting a bike rally. Another case was booked after party workers flew a drone over their rally, without taking permission from the concerned authorities.

“We have received a complaint from Election Commission flying squad team stating that on November 15, AIMIM candidate Ahmed Balala came to the Returning Officer’s office to file his nomination with a bike rally. We have held one person in connection with the case, and are investigating the matter,” Sultan Bazar Assistant Commissioner of Police, Chetana told #KhabarLive.

ALSO READ:   How To Improve Important SEO Metrics Track?

In September, the AIMIM released their first list of candidates for the 2018 Telangana Assembly elections. The party, with its core support base in the old city area of Hyderabad, will be contesting in seven seats.

All seven sitting MLAs were renominated with a shuffle only in two seats, that of Mumtaz Ahmed Khan and Syed Ahmed Pasha Quadri. The party said that Mumtaz Ahmed Khan, the present MLA from Yakutpura constituency, will now contest from Charminar while AIMIM General Secretary and present Charminar legislator Syed Ahmed Pasha, will contest from Yakutpura.

ALSO READ:  All Eyes On 'First Woman Minister' In KCR Cabinet Expansion On February 19

Akbaruddin Owaisi, the MLA from Chandrayangutta, who has won the constituency four consecutive times, will continue to contest from his stronghold. Mohammad Moazam Khan, who has been holding the post of Bahadurpura MLA since 2004, will contest from the same seat.

Ahmed Bin Abdullah Balala, who won the Malakpet seat successfully in 2009 and 2014, will contest again from the same seat. Jaffer Hussain Meraj, the former deputy mayor of the Greater Hyderabad Municipal Corporation (GHMC) in 2009 and presently an MLA, will continue to contest from Nampally.

ALSO READ:  Fishy Tale As Olympic Venues Like Gangneung Oval Face Uncertain Future

Kausar Mohiuddin the MLA from Karwan will contest in the constituency again this year.

The party is also expected to contest from seats outside of its stronghold, in constituencies like Jubilee Hills, Musheerabad and Rajendranagar in Hyderabad besides areas like Nizamabad Urban in Telangana.

Telangana is scheduled to go to the polls on December 7 and the counting of votes will take place on December 11. #KhabarLive