The outcome of the Nagarjuna Sagar bye-election scheduled for 17th April 2021 is likely to trigger drastic changes in the Telangana Pradesh Congress Committee (TPCC). For, if the Congress candidate, K Jana Reddy, wins the bye-election, the equations within TPCC will change.

According to sources, the Congress party has finalised the names of MLC T Jeevan Reddy and MP A Revanth Reddy for the TPCC president and TPCC Campaign Committee Chairman posts respectively.  At present Mallu Bhatti Vikramarka is the Congress Legislature Party (CLP) leader.

ALSO READ:  Telangana Congress 'Grim Future' Starts As Several MLAs Flocking Towards TRS

If Jana Reddy wins, it would be the eight term for him as an MLA. As the senior most MLA, it may be delicate for Jana to work under Mallu Bhatti Vikramarka.  If Jana Reddy is made CLP leader, replacing the SC leader with a Reddy leader would be politically a disadvantage to the party. TPCC sources said that it might not be possible to change the CLP leader as Mallu Bhatti Vikramarka belongs to SC community.

Sources said that in such eventuality the high command might appoint Jana Reddy as new TPCC president. Congress MPs Komatireddy Venkatareddy and A Revanth Reddy are strong contenders for the TPCC chief post. One section in the Congress party has been vehemently opposing the candidature of Revanth Reddy for TPCC post. In the erstwhile Nalgonda District Congress politics, the Komatireddy group has been opposed to Jana Reddy. Still, the Komatireddy group may accept Jana Reddy as TPCC president rather than Revanth Reddy, who joined the party five years ago.

ALSO READ:  'Telangana Congress' Must Check Their 'Self-Flagellation' Before Entering Any Fray

In any case, if Jana Reddy wins in the bye-election, his political fate may change. Congress MLC T Jeevan Reddy, known to be a non-controversial leader, may not oppose Jana Reddy’s candidature as TPCC president. Backward Classess’ leaders in the Congress party like V Hanumanth Rao and Madhu Yashki also may not oppose Jana Reddy as TPCC president. If the high command chooses to appoint Jeevan Reddy as TPCC president, then Jana Reddy may be appointed as General Secretary in AICC, sources said. #KhabarLive #hydnews

ALSO READ:  AICC Pouring Cold Water On Telangana Congress Euphoria?